No One Gets My Jokes

It’s true, no one at school understands my jokes, well, apart from a few teachers. Is it pathetic that the only people who appreciate my jokes are my teachers? This is probably because my jokes tend to be Monty Python, Young Ones, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Only Fools and Horses, Alexi Sale related and I know three people under the age of 45 who know what any of these are.

I have made references to being an ex leper in an RE lesson about miracles and was told making fun of leprosy was not appropriate. When I tried to explain that it was a Monty Python reference there were just blank looks from everyone, including my teacher. I’m not sure if I should feel sorry for those who are not aware of the genius of Monty Python or if they think I’m sad for knowing of it. Monty Python, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Only Fools and Horses are a part of Britain. In the closing ceremony of the Olympics last year, the Trotter’s famous three-wheeled van was featured (although Michael Caine’s voice over of “you were only supposed to blow the bloody doors off” was used) and Eric Idle sang Always Look On The Bright Side with roller skating nuns! This hilarity is completely lost on the majority of people I know and it upsets me that this may be lost.

But it’s not only Monty Python references that are lost on my school. For Christmas this year I got a Yoda pen as a stocking filler. When one of the top nerds in my year asked if he could borrow my pen with the weird thing on the top of it I refused. “Yoda you must know, before pen you shall use” only one person knew what I was talking about, and they nearly passed out from laughing.

So how do you educate a school full of people who do not find “Ullo John Got A New Motor” in the slightest bit funny?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

